Mr. T

MrTSome might argue that he was the greatest actor of his generation, at least the greatest actor of his generation who had a mohawk, myriad gold chains and feather earrings. He was my hero when I was in Grade 8, watching Clubber Lang in “Rocky III” and B.A. Baracus in “The A-Team.” Mr. T was born on this day in 1952.

Rick Rypien

Rick RypienFormer Vancouver Canuck Rick Rypien was born on this day in 1984. He died in 2011. Rypien was a player of great promise, a smaller guy who delighted the crowd by fighting, and beating, bigger opponents. Sadly, the promise remained unfulfilled. He suffered from mental health problems, specifically depression, and tragically, he took his own life last summer. Please check out the website and learn more about how together we can fight back against depression, anxiety and other mental health issues.

Cinco de Mayo

canada-mexicoCinco de Mayo is not Mexico’s Independence Day (actually celebrated on September 16). In fact, in Mexico itself Cinco de Mayo is a minor holiday outside of the state of Puebla. However, this holiday is observed in a big way in the United States, particularly in states with high Mexican-American populations, such as California, Arizona and Texas. More and more Canadians are celebrating Cinco de Mayo as well, including those with Mexican roots and those without. Just as you don’t have to have Irish heritage to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day, you don’t have to have Mexican heritage to join in on the fun of Cinco de Mayo!

World Press Freedom Day

worldpressfreedomdayEvery year, 3 May is a date which celebrates the fundamental principles of press freedom; to evaluate press freedom around the world, to defend the media from attacks on their independence and to pay tribute to journalists who have lost their lives in the exercise of their profession.

The international day was proclaimed by the UN General Assembly in 1993 following a Recommendation adopted at the 26th Session of UNESCO’s General Conference in 1991. This in turn was a response to a call by African journalists who in 1991 produced the landmark Windhoek Declaration on media pluralism and independence. (unesco)

For more information:


UN News

Globe and Mail